Faculty Members Honored for 2018 Doctor's Day

    Marie Johanson, PT, PhD, and Hassan Monfared, MD, were honored by the Emory School of Medicine Recognitions Committee for Doctor's Day 2018.  Over 100 Emory faculty members from the School of Medicine were nominated by their peers and colleagues for their dedication to improving the health and well-being of our patients and community through care they provide, research they conduct and efforts to teach and inspire learners.

    In recognition of Doctors' Day, the Recognitions Committee sent out a call for nominations for doctors across the School of Medicine who go above and beyond.  The committee reviewed each nomination and selected those who exemplify the outstanding faculty of the Emory School of Medicine. 

    Each of the department's honorees had nominations highlighting their commitments to inspiration, treatment and serving as a role model to the next generation of physicians. Nomination quotes include:

    Dr. Johanson

    • "Dean’s teaching award and selected as interim director of the School of Physical Therapy"

    Dr. Monfared

    • "He loves to teach residents. He has won teacher of the year awards"
    • "He is the PM&R residency program director and has made notable improvements"
    • "Excellent physician"